Poets logo

Piece by Piece

Consumed by You

By Haley HeidenreichPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You captured me by the hand and we went down to the shore line; the sand between our toes and the wind capturing our hair. I felt the rush of heat flush my cheeks when you looked at me with those beautiful eyes. God, I knew that I was hooked. The cold sea air mixed with the warm butterflies in my stomach made me feel more alive than I had ever felt in my life. You took the air from my lungs and placed it out into the ocean. All I could ever do was stare at your eyes; they were full of galaxies that had me swimming through their depths finding nebulas of warm compassion and shooting stars of spontaneity and impulse. We were ankle deep and I already felt like I was drowning. The moment you first spoke I knew that I would fall for you more than a child’s love for its imaginary friend, and more than a fish in any sea. I fell hard yet you kept pulling me in when you were resurfacing away from your feelings. You left without a goodbye or an explanation. I was neck deep in the water waiting for you to save me when I had an anchor to my foot. Standing off into the distance was you standing on the shore line with someone else. You placed me out into the deep. I kept being pulled by you once I reached the ocean shelf…. yet the funny thing is, I let go of the shelf to be consumed even more by you. You were my addiction. You were my oxygen. You were my safe haven. Now I am off sailing on new shores and oceans. Maybe one day we’ll meet each other on the old shore line. Until then, I wish you love beyond measure. I wish you all the love and luck in this God forsaken world. Bring her out to the shore line one night. Show her your trick of how the moonlight plays off the glints of sparks in your eyes. Hold her hand tightly and for once…. jump in.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Haley Heidenreich

I love iced coffee and writing about more of the trivial things of life. But....also writing poetry, novels, short stories, blog posts, and watching the best of the best that could come from Netflix and shark week 😂

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.