Poets logo

Picking Petals

When I feel yellow

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

There are canyons in the wrinkles of my leather journal

Pages turned green, I see a vast field of fruits and tall flowers.

The cells in their stems tell me what words I should write.

On most days, I feel pink but sometimes I feel yellow.

Yellow is thick silk sheets, wrapping me in my bedroom.

It is my peeling childhood wallpaper, eyeshadow palettes, and neon highlighters.

Yellow envelopes my entire being when I am excited, but when I write it gets hotter.

The color of stars, it bursts within a lightyear.

Yellow is the sun, my ancestors jaws, and the seeds of corn that I press into stone.

It turns into the tortillas I eat, the stains on my teeth, and the laughter I let slip.

I am a yellow bird, a droopy sunflower, and a glisten in the golden hour of pictures.

It reminds me of past pool floats, doll's hair, and the A+ on my paper.

Yellow is injectable, it comes and goes at free will.

I think I will always be yellow, next to a river, and thinking of times when someone passes in a breeze.

Others are also yellow, but it is a color shared for the world.

I am yellow #402938728.

The yellow petal picked by melancholy hands for new beginnings.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.