Poets logo

Picket Line

Inside my mind

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Picket Line
Photo by Jack Skinner on Unsplash

I prefer mischief

while confined to restrictions

on my imagination

by a system that prefers me chained.

While led to believe

I am in no position to complain,

a mass picket takes place in my brain,

forming a blockade

from scabs who might dissuade

me from the thoughts

that keep me sane.

So join the cause if you feel so inclined,

because my mind

is dug in to protest today, tonight,

and throughout this lifetime.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    THIS! This was so relatable and I couldn't have said it better myself. Loved your poem!

  • Salman siddique5 months ago

    enjoyed it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.