Poets logo

Piano Voices

I, II, and III

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I.

I know your mood each time

You stroke my keys

Your choice of signature

Metre and key

The Sonnet and the March

O' so complete

Your sadness swells among

The ebony

While happiness rises

Twinkling above the higher range

II.

Today your anger is pounded

Out upon my board and the thumping

Of the peddles releasing and sustaining

Your sadness of yesterday swelled

When your fingers glided across

The black keys of the minor chord

Tomorrow I hope that joy and

Happiness will join our duet and

Make a trio, plus a refrain

III.

You met me when you were eight and you loved me the instant you could make my heart strings sing. You labeled every white key with masking tape; a map to the music you played. You took your anger out on me by pounding the keys and stomping on my pedals without leaving a single blemish upon my shiny surface. I remember when you fell in love; your hands drifted over my board as your fingers caressed the smooth ivory and ebony keys, dropping the hammers against my internal wires; almost like fingers stroking the strings of a harp.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.