Poets logo

(phosphene)

/ˈfäsfēn/ the colors, lights, and stars one sees when they rub or press on their closed eyes

By Erin LockhartPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
(phosphene)
Photo by Jake Weirick on Unsplash

stars dance across my eyes,

their light i chase,

and aimless is the path i take.

colors illuminate the dark

and i can just barely make out your silhouette

even though i can’t see my own hand

like i’m invisible.

but you can see me,

right?

you look at me, look right through me.

i don’t believe you or believe me,

my eyes or my skin. (believe me)

look at what you did.

the hole in my head,

knife in the back,

stars in the black,

it happens all at once

it happens all over again

but i keep tripping over myself

just to get to you.

are you there?

i can’t find you. i see you too often.

are we the only ones,

am i there at all?

i rub my eyes, and this time,

the stars become swirls. this vicious cycle.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Erin Lockhart

Resident goth, metalhead, poet, illustrator, and ghost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.