Poets logo

Phoenix

trial by fire

By HopePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Falling into the pit

Plunging deeper, deeper

Covered in cold,

Numb in darkness

It’s familiar

I know this despair

I know this prison

The exit I cannot see I envision

Waves crash and roll over

Dead, drowned corpses

Moldy clumps of hair,

How I long to breath

Sweet, bitter crisp air.

The whole, swallowed and hollow,

Rip out this black matter

Claw straight through my chest

Dig deeper, deeper.

Find that unholy place

A cruel irony,

Ugly, contorted fear of that space

Painfully aware what it holds

If you cannot face it

It’s face becomes yours

For you cannot leave

If you wish to go.

Dive into that hollow,

Go deeper, deeper.

Force yourself

stand root.

Hold steady

It will shoot

Pain

Liquid fire

Like lava it goes

To the core

Set afire

Bones

Ablaze,

My skin

It burns

A hellfire rain couldn’t hurt worse

Buckle down

Collapse and catch

My last stronghold,

These hands I clasp

My final cry, like knives,

A thousand, tiny, pin-prick knives

Shattered my ears, but reached on high

In my smoldered blood I lie

Once again, reaching in my mind

Not the light, what I seek

Something far more meek

Climb these walls, reach

The sky!

How I long to burn this Hell of mine!

A sharp inhale

Deep sigh

Good things to tell me

I am alive.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.