Poets logo

Phantom whisperer

A poem based on Ingmar Bergman’s Cries and Whispers

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
13
Screenshot from Cries and Whispers

I walk

Down the hallway

I slip past your room.

I sink lower against the wall adjacent to where your bed lies,

Where you lie.

All of us sisters,

So different yet the same,

Soaked in love and longing,

Red like pain.

We were once close,

And our relationships fell,

I know we walked amongst the sunshine,

We were all together, happy,

Sunlight upon us,

what is darkness,

My dear sister,

What from its shadows can it tell?

You passed on after that gray, terror filled night,

In desperate cries and pained yells,

I couldn’t bear to hear it or get too close, I was selfish to escape my unending fright.

Now, I sit close, not too close,

Knowing you are gone.

It feels like you are still here.

I don’t feel alone.

I stand up, my pulse racing high,

Then I hear it,

I hear someone whisper

In my

ear,

“Where were you?”

I shake and my color leaves my body,

Why don’t you come see me?

the voice is above my head.

It’s travels down the hall.

I’m here waiting. I’m so lonely.

I am about to faint, I cling to the door frame of the wall across yours.

I’m right here, sister,

The voice crawls into my

Brain. It sinks into my bones, reverberating and bouncing off of my body like a banging drum.

Then the voice is like my own, it sounds like me, a phantom whisper,

a dead ringer of my own voice,

Crying longingly, and then in a loud whisper it clearly said,

Where is my body? Where is my mind? I’m not sure if I’m dead.

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Excellent, I can feel the intensity of the poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.