Poets logo

Phantasmagoria

Lucid Delusion

By Sofie WeberPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Image by Seraphia

Have I turned into a ghost talking? Caved by the riddle of time?

A wanna-be epitome of light in this rather mischievous reality?

That’s probably and most certainly how my muse would love to speak of it,

but as it is in these current shades of duality, it might also be reversed.

Life at times seems to me like a phantasmagoria of lucid delusion,

a phantasma rarely captured other than rendered or carved in art,

projected by a rear lantern, almost a daydream, perhaps a nightmare,

as a perpetual, sinister tangoing between the personas of Love and Fear.

Image by Seraphia

Riddles, mazes, mysteries, fathomless mirroring on the wall,

changing successions of imagery, combined in my vivid fantasy.

Adrift from hell and into heaven, a timeless roaming in my being,

the lonely now becomes the lover, the blind man shifts into all-seeing.

I lose control of the conscious mind to secrets for my soul to find,

in tangled, nearly indivisible knots of mysticism and reality.

Reflection of my dormant fears, the spells of an inverted world,

in which the bounds of the natural and the unnatural have been blurred.

I oddly feel like Alice in Wonderland, trapped in a composition of Dali,

reciting Edgar Alan Poe’s tell-tale heart, full of hyperboles and puns.

Maybe uncertainty of existence is becoming an integral part of my illusion,

turning my muse into a Phantasmagoria to prepare my soul for the unknown.

surreal poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Sofie Weber

Sofie is a writer and composer. She loves to write short stories, poetry and to play music to her lyrics. Sometimes she creates a dreamy poetic mini movie full of heart. ✨

‘Sofie Weber’ is a pseudonym under which I publish original work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test11 months ago

    Loved this, the flow the words... like "sinister tangoing"... it was metaphysical, poetic, and mysterious, but most importantly, beautiful 💙 Anneliese

  • Test11 months ago

    Wow! Both profound and beautiful. Many great lines, including "Riddles, mazes, mysteries, fathomless mirroring on the wall." Wonderful writing💙Anneliese

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.