Poets logo

Personal Space

home

By Thomas DurbinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

My feet are up

The dog has been fed

There is a fresh hairball

On my side of the bed

I will stay in my chair

And finish my drink

Ignore all the dishes

In the kitchen sink

The rug in the living room

Is nearly thread-bare

Not one of the corners

Sits perfectly square

The curtain in the shower

Sports pinkish slime

My lack of cleaning

Is barely short of a crime

The refrigerator is running

And the washer is full

I'll empty the dryer

When my glass isn't full

I put in new windows

And a heater last autumn

The roof keeps out rain

And this chair soothes my bottom

The speakers are loud

By sound I am surrounded

The wifi is connected

The wiring is grounded

The trees have been trimmed

The garden is on track

New stain on the deck

And a fire pit out back

It may be simple

It is certainly plain

This humble abode

Is my home and domain.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Thomas Durbin

Raised in rural east-central Illinois, I appreciate nature and the environment. I'm a father, grandfather, professional engineer-scientist, leader, scouts leader, coach, stoic, minimalist, costumer, historian, traveler, and writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.