Poets logo

Permission to Heal

Seeking Permission to Heal

By Dr. EldyPublished 10 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Like

Give my heart permission to beat,

Back to the path I strayed away from.

Give me permission to remove this weight on my chest,

Weighed down by the sins that left a deep scar in my soul.

Give me permission to breathe again,

So I can learn again - this old trick I knew from birth.

My soul is numb under this rock,

Where I thought I could find refuge,

Where I have been cowardly hiding.

The only thing I can do to avoid falling fatally apart,

From the guilt of tears and heartbreak I inflicted on you,

From the guilt of the anger I excavated from your trust,

From the shame on the ugliness of my essence.

Give me permission to live beyond existing,

And allow this dark cloud to fade.

I know it is too much to ask of you,

To allow my life's worth to be more than just existing to right my wrongs.

A task that I fear - that even if I accomplish,

It would not even come close to redeeming me.

I need to do more to deserve your permission,

To forgive myself.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dr. Eldy

Dr. Eldy has a passion for poetry and storytelling. Through the art of weaving words together, she seeks to share her life story. By embracing the natural flow of life and she seeks to capture its essence in every written piece.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test10 months ago

    Very beautifully written, and heartbreaking. I would forgive you just about anything if you wrote this to me šŸ’™ Anneliese

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.