Poets logo

Perfectionist

Now I know that I'm a perfectionist. I told her and she used it against me.

By Nicole AlexisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

They tell me I have this look in my eyes

That leaves people fearful inside.

“You must be kind!”

“Stop right now!”

I lick my lips and beg for danger.

Let me unleash what I have kept within!

You must obey my will.

Spoil me with all your love,

Shower me in your decadence.

Now I know that I’m a “perfectionist.”

I told her and she used it against me.

But have no fear,

I am always 10 chess moves ahead…

Just in case.

These are the cards that I’ve been dealt.

I’ve studied my hand and the rules of the game.

I promise you that I frighten myself too,

But wouldn’t you like to see me have fun?

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Alexis

A 22 year old romantic with a lust for life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.