Poets logo

Perfect Bliss

What's your bliss?

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Right now,

I’m picturing myself walking along a beach.

A glass of fizzing white wine in my hand.

It’s nightfall, and I wear a shawl and a one piece polka-dotted bathing suit,

And as I walk, I gaze out into the sea,

To observe its temper and beauty.

Everyone else is asleep.

But I remain restless.

Unsatisfied.

At one point, I stop walking,

Just to soak in the atmosphere.

Looking around I witness a collection of dark hues around me.

Grey, for the sand, dark blue, nearly black, for the water,

And everything else completely opaque except for the stars,

Which glisten like diamonds.

I close my eyes and breathe in the salty bouquet of this beach,

And spread my arms.

I let my feet sink into the sand, feeling salty bits between

Each crevice of each toe.

I want to soak this in with all my senses.

Because earlier today, when I was here.

I could not do that.

Too many people.

Too many distractions.

But now…

Everything is calm.

And I can hear the gentle thrashing of the waves.

I open my eyes, and keep walking,

Letting the wind hug my body with each step.

I love this moment right here.

A moment of peace, and maybe not complete quiet,

But for once, I feel centered.

For once, I feel connected.

Even though I’m alone,

I don’t feel so lonely.

They say the life of a true artist is lonely,

But walking on this beach,

That isn’t true.

The sand is my solace,

The waves are my friends,

And the wind is my lover.

Here, I feel like the world is at my fingertips.

I dive into the frigid water and let the saltwater coat my hair.

My eyes burn from all the salt.

And rising out of the water, my lover,

The wind, latches onto my body but less tenderly

Because it is so cold.

I stand here, in the water.

The water isn’t the only thing I soak in.

I soak in the dark night, the deathly cold, and the wind who is my wild lover,

Who does what he pleases.

Tonight, although I’m cold and miserable,

I am free.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.