Poets logo

People watcher

Poem by Melissa Ingoldsby

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
People watcher
Photo by Jean Carlo Emer on Unsplash

I sit here

Every single day

I watch the people pass me by

They go to that cafe

And drink their coffee

And have a good time catching up.

I see each person,

The way their expression changes,

Charged with emotions

Happy, sad, lonely

In love.

I watch every single expression

I try to copy it,

But I do not feel.

I have a charred inside,

But a normal outside.

I watch their mouths move,

And create sounds,

They say hello, goodbye, nice to see you,

Hope to see you soon.

I paint them all in my eyes

And they stay there.

I don’t people watch,

I’m not a person,

I’m a little creature, a monster born

In an alley of trash, mud, desire.

They all left me there,

Sitting day after day,

Night after cold night,

Making me burrow into the garbage, hot, putrid,

Like I was a part of the city’s background,

A tired, flopping, waste of space.

I watch them all in their trimmed, red coats

And clean faces,

And I know they eat and drink and laugh and cry

And eat and eat and eat and eat

I hate feeling full,

It makes the water come out of my eyes.

And they see me, they really do.

They see me, I see you.

heartbreak
7

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    very good. Sad, but very good.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Compelling poetry just like it’s compelling to watched people.

  • This was an eye opener. Made me emotional. Loved the way you write this

  • Very original! I love it.

  • Sad but excellent. Thought provoking

  • I loved this sis , great , great words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.