Poets logo

Pemaquid Point

memories of summer are memories of my mother

By Raistlin AllenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Picture of a picture; original photo credit to my dad

On that day we sat and watched the ocean,

I in my teenage struggles couldn’t think

the story that would blow this wound open,

and leave me longing for a stronger drink.

Today I went back and you were not there.

I watched the caps of rocks covered with moss;

the maddened waves clapped at the salty air,

fed with the millionth retelling of loss.

I heard your laughter, felt your sun-brushed skin

as you sat beside me in our private bay,

the water pulling out as we breathed in.

Captured in frame, I remember that day

How our souls touched like shards of broken glass;

How you did always say: This, too, shall pass.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.