Poets logo

Pedigree Chum

DAD DAUGHTER STRUGGLES POEM

By Mimi SparkesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Pedigree Chum
Photo by Katie Emslie on Unsplash

I write this as the tears roll down my cheeks

Not knowing what to say or how to even speak

You were the one who brought me up

I thought you’d always show me love

This cuts like a knife so deep

out my veins the blood will seep

Did you ever care or was this all in the plan

Why have me if you can’t be a man

A man who fights for his children, gets up on time and has a vision

A vision of what kind of father you wish to be

but no it’s like you hate me

I used to think we had a bond but now I realise just how fond

I was of you all I ever wanted was to please you

I know the way that it truly is

Joe comes first he always did

In your eyes he can do no wrong

but then there’s me rust off a transit dead and gone

You’ll be so pleased when my days are over

Then you don’t have to bother or get off the sofa

If I was a horse you’d have me shot

Don’t you even realise you and mum are all I’ve got

I wish I was that horse on the ground no breathing not a sound

Even then I would be a burden because you’d have to pay

For them to take me far away

Off I’d go never to be seen again until I end up in a tin

At least then a dog will appreciate me even if it is only to fill their tummy

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mimi Sparkes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.