Poets logo

Pedals of Change

Lines from my private journal

By Guije's PenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
"Sunflower", photography done by author

My grandmother in her never ending mode of passing wisdom to others,

once told me when a flower loses its petals

it signifies the moment of change

the same way a tree loses its leaves during the autumn,

the leaves changing from green to oranges, reds, and browns,

“If it’s one thing to hold onto,” she said…

“Change is a constant in life, things never stay the same…”

Took me about four years to recall these words,

but it applies more now than it has before

I cannot explain it apart from the hope to climb up to my ideals,

at least now they’re tangible more than ever

There are times where I remind myself “I’m human”

believing in something different than what my family has,

sometimes second guessing myself if this is real

or if I’m just being delusional, escaping to a “fantasy world,”

eventually circling back to my optimism

In the middle of dropping what has been and accepting the new,

sometimes looking at the path of others’ turns me blue,

looking in the mirror as a gentle reminder

“I’m on my own path…”

There’s going to be a new chapter, filled with new things,

newer experiences I’ve fantasized about in my journal,

especially since I’m a fully grown adult in a sense

The petals of a sunflower fallin’

a sign of change in my life to occur,

hoping it wouldn’t be in just one aspect,

walking around my hometown,

lost in the vibes of a suave guitar heavy song

not too intense for my ears to bare,

photographed that same flower before it lost its petals,

wandered in the scenes behind the heavenly gates of

my imagination of living here ...as though it was done…

perhaps a part of me knows it is,

for now I’ll hang onto those petals

knowing that my ideals are coming into my world

as the “new normal” being so blissful,

a knowing of my immediate transition being done.

Sleeping in the awareness of…

“I’m going to be okay.”

Author's Note

I appreciate your time in reading this article. If you've enjoyed what you read, then please feel free to share this and leave a tip because any amount would be greatly appreciated. I'll be back with another piece very soon.

Warm Regards,

Guije

excerpts
1

About the Creator

Guije's Pen

I decided to create this newer page for my best material 'cause I'm picky, that's why I've created another new page since I was unhappy with the library I put up on the other ones. Photography, short stories, personal journal posts, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.