Poets logo

Peaches and Cream

Hardly

By Katie Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Peaches and Cream
Photo by NisonCo PR and SEO on Unsplash

It has already begun.

The pushback.

The daily declarations of distaste towards people like me.

How dare we try to live a life out in the open.

How I long to scream at them, to shout at them, my hatred of their hate.

I live amongst them, unknown. I work amongst them, hidden.

I try to disarm them, daring to stand up for people like me. Gaining sideways looks from them for doing so.

Some day I may find the courage to stand openly, unabashedly against their small minded view of my people.

But its not all peaches and cream.

Their hatred is real, their prejudices are real, and ingrained deeply.

They hold tightly to their belief that they are in the right, that they are better people. For hating.

So why must I lose all, to gain what should be easily achieved?

I don’t need or want parades, I don’t want special considerations.

What I want, is to live as I feel I must.

Yes, I’m transgender, now leave me alone to live my life. As I do yours.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.