Poets logo

"PEACE PLEASE"

"NO MORE TROUBLES"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 3 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - February 2024
45
War / No More Trouble (Live At The Rainbow Theatre, London / 1977) Bob Marley

I wrote this poem after watching the news across the globe. I needed to express my thoughts through words and a song.

I look at the news.

I look at confusion

of realities

of the blues of the news.

People hate, throw slurs

of their blurs

of society

of woes

of lies

of mass proportions of gossip

of terror

of wars

of the dark side of humanity,

as I get my bow and arrow

ready.

But wait it is not violence I want

to tie

into their hate

and debate

of pride and the other sides

of point of view.

This is my cue

to spread love

peace

and

freedom beyond borders of

fences and hate

to spread love and peace not hate.

So, I write about the thoughts of my brain

trying to keep sane,

knowing that life is what it is

and what it was,

cause

I love freedom.

I love democracy of choices.

The price of freedom is

bombs or mob bosses.

But of me and you and all

as I recall

to live and let live.

I turn off the news

of the blues

of war

of hate

and the bait.

Tonight is out of sight.

Let's rock tonight.

I look at the verse.

What could be worse

than not to belong

to a hate group of sorts?

Actually, believing one is superior to two.

So, we leave it to the courts

of petty lies of despair

from the criminals of time and space.

Do I care?

I choose love and peace

to humanity of a sort of all

people.

We lease

the earth.

For what it's worth.

We are all unique souls

of life, birth, and death

around the globe

of this earth

For what it's worth

of humanity

of the light,

not the dark

in the night.

We bring the light.

Let's love,

hug

and not tug

on each others' souls

of old.

Peace, love, and light.

Written By

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

FEBRUARY 9, 2024

Stream of ConsciousnessinspirationalFree VerseCONTENT WARNINGBallad
45

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Gandhi said "Be the change you want to see in the world." Gandhi changed, but the world did not. This does not invalidate the importance of changing one's own heart. Even the tragic end of the Christ figure (which, in Gandhi's own culture, he certainly was) points to a change that happens beyond the labyrinth of society, the real and important liminal change that precedes the temporal! My hope is that a day will come when "Christ" can walk among us without going to the cross! Then and only then will we know the world has truly changed. Well-wrought! I'll add this plea for peace to the comment section of my CREATION MYTH as an introduction to your work! https://vocal.media/poets/creation-myth-m8dm0x8d

  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    I often think in my head that what I have gone through (be it anything), I'll try my best that others will not have to. But then the question arises that how do I that. Your words truly resonates. Let's just keep spreading peace and then keep spreading it again and again.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on TS!🥳

  • Amelia Mapstone2 months ago

    Thank you for writing something that can resonate so strongly with all of us Peace-makers. 🥰💗🕊️ It's really cool that it flows like a stream of consciousness, each thought leading to the next like your inner dialogue in poem-form. Well done.

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Fabulously composed message! 💕

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Wow! Thank you 😊❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Move over Lennon, I say 😁👍

  • Syed Shahmeer2 months ago

    If you like this post you would also enjoy "The Enchanted Hourglass" https://vocal.media/fiction/the-enchanted-hourglass-kp43n0dhs

  • Sahib ali2 months ago

    I love the way you will explain the words❤️😊

  • Some excellent points, love the form

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Amazing! I loved everything about this! Congrats, Vicki!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story Vicki... This is so well deserved!!! ❤️😎

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Congrats on top story! Great work!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    If dreams were wishes … is it really so hard, does world need to always be in strife. It is beautiful that you wrote this Congratulations

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    Back to congratulate you on well-deserved Top Story!

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Ceasefire now.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Brenton F2 months ago

    So many sentiments expressed so concisely and perfectly! Well done Vicki and congrats on the TS

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Nicely done! Congrats on the TS.

  • Test2 months ago

    Very powerful beautiful poem!

  • This was so profound, poignant and powerful! Let's just show everyone kindness and love!

  • Colleen Millsteed 3 months ago

    Vicki this shows your empathy and love for the world. It’s also relatable and why I no longer watch the news. Well written my friend.

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    Lovely poem and insightful

  • Let's love, hug and not tug on each others' souls Love this line!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.