Poets logo

Peace in Pencil

A Tired Warrior

By Kiki Le TigrePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Kiki Le Tigre

I put on my strongest face

When I'm weak, or when I'm scared

And losing you, if only temporarily

Has been

The Worst

Because

I forget my past lives around you

Which is different

Than repressing

The me inside my head

That conquers cities

And fights boys

And drinks far too much

For my small size

The me who replaces love

When times are hard

The me

Who stared a man

With a knife

In the face

And chose four lettered last words

And flew

A single fingered flag of freedom

The me who is an amazon on a pedestal

Of a raised and clenched fist

Is so

Tired

So I drew the silliest picture of me

It was the me inside my head

And I folded it into your papers

Half hoping you wouldn't find it

Half hoping you would

Because for the first time that little me isn't needed

She's safe in your arms

And so she rests

On paper

In pencil

At peace

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Kiki Le Tigre

Kiki Le Tigre is a part-time poet, part-time human, committed to honest self expression. This expression is made public in hopes of inspiring others, or creating a connection point for those who may feel lost. Email: [email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Beautiful!

  • I hadn't read this, love the cat, great poem

Kiki Le TigreWritten by Kiki Le Tigre

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.