Poets logo

PATIENCE

Missing Mom

By Margaret BrennanPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
10

I find myself losing patience

Whenever I hear the phone ring

And hear Mom’s voice on the other end.

it's always the same old thing.

“Hello, dear, I'm just checking in.

Just making sure you're OK.”

More than once I just feel like saying:

“I'm the same as I was yesterday.”

I'm not as young as I used to be

where I had patience to spare.

Yet mom is much older and now needs to hear

That her children, though grown now, still care.

Instead of a curt reply to her questions

That she's asked too many times before,

I hold the phone tight as I fight back a tear

And tell her I love her so much more.

My mom has always been there for me

To help when I needed a hand.

I pray every day for patience renewed

So, when the phone rings I'll understand.

A day will soon come when mom drifts away

As a heavenly angel then sings

And my heart will be broken for never again

Will I lose patience when the telephone rings.

That day came not too long ago,

As I sat with mom by her bed.

I held her sweet hand as my heart broke in two

When she breathed her last ragged breath.

performance poetry
10

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • RD Brennan2 years ago

    made me think of my own mom and as a son, how indifferent I was. Wish I could do things over.

  • Not only is this poem a heartfelt story of a life between mother and daughter, but the rhyme and rhythm are spot on! Bravo. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.