Poets logo

Path 7: Maternal/Paternal

The parallels of healing and nurturing

By Noah RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Path 7: Maternal/Paternal
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

From beyond the awareness of your fingertips

I hold an illusion of control

within the umbra cast by your limitations.

This life is new to you

hands reaching

just far enough to say you’re here.

I know

that neither of us know enough, but

I see

that we are bound by strings of dependence

I hear

you ask for sips of water

just enough to stay with me.

The flowers nearby grow just enough

we know they change but can hardly watch

and some will shrivel away, burned by an abundance of sunlight

betrayed by generosity.

I know you are scared.

Just know I will be here with you

looking for every need I can

listening for your silence

a sign that you have changed

dried

bloomed

somehow crossed out of the shade.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Noah Rodriguez

A multiracial gay med student/writer and NYC native. I believe identity is something that is creatively built, discovered, shared, and transformed, and healing can come from that.

If you like what I write, follow me on twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Noah Rodriguez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.