Poets logo

Patchwork People

A Poem

By Sity SullivanPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

there's this woman in my mind

She's pieced together from memories

ideas

and books I've gathered

thought

collected

She's strong

happy

nobody's fool

She's who I want to be.

but this woman

this patchwork person of my mind

is not who I am

I am not strong

I am not happy

I get played far too often.

Yet she is in me

screaming to be seen.

And on rare occasions

when the days have been too long

the nights too short

the hurt too much

she appears.

She saves me

when I cannot save myself

and then

with a whimper disappears

as I fix the damage my patchwork person

has left behind

She is who I want to be

but I will spend my life

cleaning her messes

and wondering why

I want to be her.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sity Sullivan

Sitadel aka Sity I can be found at @awkwardsity for basically any platform I'm on... idk I'm a nerd I guess?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.