Poets logo

Passive Aggressive

Combating bitterness upon return to the "real world"

By FIFEPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Passive Aggressive
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

The things we do - indirectly.

I’m drawn to this sort of thing,

torture. But,

I pull myself clear of it.

When she

shakes my hand, her body is elsewhere,

unharmed.

Her vessel formed in ceramics and reinforced

tightly

every wish granted, “Hey!” I’d say.

It isn’t fair! Is it?

I understand these sorts of things

The way I tortured my thoughts into patterns

and my body is elsewhere,

unbothered, because

I pulled myself clear of it.

Thus am I "above it", so

it turns out I’m envious

in effigy, “Don’t worry,” I’d say.

It’s not real, because

I’m not real.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

FIFE

The written word is everything. I love to read, and I love to write - primarily fiction and poetry, but I'm also psyched to learn about pretty much any topic and to share my expertise in music and music business.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage2 years ago

    Short and really nice! I invite you to read my stories :) thank you

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    B R I L L I A N T ! I came apart and back together in your words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.