Poets logo

Passing Notes

A small act of bravery

By Haniyyah AbdussamadPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
First Crush

do you like me, check box, yes or no

idk

will you go out with me, check box, yes or no

no

why?

idk

I know how I feel about you

idc

dang, that’s cold

im tryin to do my work

my bad, I’m just sayin

wat?

nah, nevermind, you doin your work

exactly

so I won’t bother you

good

ok

well, what were you gonna say

nah, I won’t mess with you anymore

just tell me

its ok, I’m sorry I bothered you

just tell me

well if you really want me to

Yes!

are you sure

yes, before i change my mind

well, I was going to tell you how beautiful you are and how much I like you but…

ugh…i’m over it, nevermind

instead, I will say this, whether you know it or not I’m your person.

Despite change, evolution, age or interest, you are my person.

made from a particular rib

with my name etched in

so you can say yes or no now,

you will see.

can I ask you a question

i guess

are you my person, check box, yes or no

yes

art
7

About the Creator

Haniyyah Abdussamad

I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, writer, and teacher. I love life, the struggle and triumphs. My writing really is inspired by everyday lives and stories from those who impact my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.