Poets logo

Passerbys

the truth hurts

By Christine PicasciaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Passerbys
Photo by 13on on Unsplash

It was just a walk. I was tired of sitting so I drove into town for a break

I should have worn a heavier sweater, the wind chill made my body ache

As I strolled through the cobblestone walkways, looking for a café

I glanced up and time stopped, you were in my way.

It was a only a moment when our eyes locked and the world slowed down

The silence was loud, but my heart was louder with its pounds.

I imagined what it would have been like if we actually spoke.

We would sit in a coffee shop talking over books, movies, travels and jokes.

You would be kind, generous, and funny, a catch they'd all say,

Our families would love us together, our friends would rally around us,

They would be jealous of our love and we would secretly enjoy that.

We would plan our life together with a house and a couple kids,

Growing old and sit on rocking chairs watching sunsets.

I would meet you all over again in many lifetimes, I'd seek your face in the crowds.

I had it all figured out for us in that moment, as excitement stirred in my stomach,

But the butterflies turned into hornets as you passed me by, stinging once you were out of sight.

The fact is maybe you are a selfish, brash, workaholic,

Maybe your mother would hate me and your friends would think I'm clingy.

Maybe I needed to believe the bad to cope, I needed to hate you to move on.

I wish I could put that moment in a glass bottle, and look at it whenever I needed to feel something, to escape reality.

The truth is I don't know you but I loved you anyway.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Christine Picascia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.