Poets logo

Party's Over

And We're Still Here

By Vagabond WritesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

When the parties are over I’m still here

Still in a country fueled by bigotry and fear

One man in a million angry voices

Nine consecrated seats to determine our choices

When the parades are over I’m still black

Still told hard work and bootstraps are all I lack

But history isn’t rectified with any Juneteenth jubilation

No amount of sophistic celebration

I’m still here, walking on eggshells, stepping over party poppers, and streamers

If I’m pulled over I still have to watch my demeanor

Yessir, and no sir, and dare not move an inch

Worried they’ll gun me down if I just flinch

See the parades may end, but never does the fight

The celebration is not an escape, try as you might

When it’s all over I’m still here to clean up the mess

An activist at heart, a social justice janitor at best

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Vagabond Writes

I sometimes write things. Currently eager to write more, and provide quality content. If you like my writing consider subscribing or pledging. Thanks for the support!

Also follow my Instagram @Vagabond_Writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.