Poets logo

PARTING WAYS WITH THE PAST

A FAREWELL TO DRINKING

By SIMPLYPOETPublished 8 months ago 1 min read

Days lost, forever beyond my grasp,

Sleep, a dream, a desire from the past.

You transformed a hero into a rogue,

My life's story, a narrative unspoke.

Though you led me astray, you were my guide,

A complicated friend on this turbulent ride.

You brought moments of bliss, inspired my quill,

But within this mirth, I lost my will.

Today marks the final meeting, we part our ways,

No more kisses from you in this newfound phase.

Farewell, my friend, it's time to say goodbye,

I quit drinking, it's time to touch the sky.

..................................SIMPLYPOET

sad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction

About the Creator

SIMPLYPOET

SIMPLY POET, A SIMPLE POET.......

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Victor Pope8 months ago

    Love your display Image! Loved the personification of your struggle. Here's to soaring heights in your writing and life! #SimplyPoet

SWritten by SIMPLYPOET

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.