Poets logo

Parasitic War

Internal Battles

By Em DPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I feel as though a universe is beginning inside me.

Ever expanding and creating worlds unknown.

Each one filled with terrifying beasts and hidden dangers,

Yet the more I explore, the less appears to unfold.

These parasitic creatures constantly at war with each other,

Leaching off my spirit in order to fight.

It won't matter how long I search in the darkness

As it's only you that holds the light,

Yet you leave me here in this war torn shell

Conflicted with self-hatred, heartbreak, and betrayal.

As strong as I am, and despite all I have seen,

This internal war has made me unstable

And this only fuels my struggle to understand,

As I cannot see what is dust kicked up in battle,

And what are simply clouds over my judgement.

Either way my mind is rattled.

You have the power to bring peace to me

But you have chosen to let me hold this war

And then ignored my mayday calls and white flags,

When all I need to know is what I'm fighting for.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Em D

New poet looking for feedback :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.