Poets logo

Paper Dreams

a Lyric

By W.J. DavidsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Paper Dreams
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

I can't let go

I'm hearing all the

things you said inside my head.

They're twisting

like violent water

in an ocean filled with dead regrets/

My life has been

a roller coaster

off the tracks in a burning ditch.

I hear the silence

getting louder

You give me a reason to live/

//You're like the ground beneath my knees

my very favorite part of me.

The only piece of concrete

in these paper dreams.

Dead lullabies when I sleep

You are the air beneath these wings

in the land of broken sunsets

and paper dreams//

It comforts me

remembering the

things you said before you left.

The stars were so

damn close to falling.

For once I'm not alone in this/

I hear your echoes

all around me

Telling me I should stay strong.

and if I'm only

being honest

where you are is where I belong/

//You're like the ground beneath my knees

my very favorite part of me.

The only piece of concrete

in these paper dreams.

Dead lullabies when I sleep

You are the air beneath these wings

in the land of broken sunsets

and paper dreams//

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

W.J. Davidson

Hey everyone! I'm a new writer trying to get better and find where I fit in. If you read my stuff, please give honest feedback. It helps so much!

Good day to you and happy writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.