Poets logo

Paper Chains

A poem on choosing goodbye

By Josey PickeringPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2024
Paper Chains
Photo by Gabriele Stravinskaite on Unsplash

I hung onto people,

like those paper chains we made in grade school.

Taped together, colorful chaos.

I held on even when some links stopped holding their own weight,

I watched myself tear and fall apart,

because I trusted time more than respect.

A crumpled up & torn version of myself,

trying to tape myself back together after every friendship travesty.

I’d find myself stuck to them again,

linking up because of the past

like time spent together meant I owed them more.

When I finally let go on my own,

I transformed, almost alchemical.

I made links of steel,

with like minded souls.

People who didn’t weigh me down,

but lifted me and kept me level.

Permanent fixtures of friendship,

I’d torn through so many false facades to find.

Friendship

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Linda Bromley30 days ago

    Wow! THAT hit home! Congratulations on top story. Such a great poem

  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    This was sadly so relatable. I loved the use of 'alchemical'. Really wonderful work, Josey :)

  • A wonderfully presented poetic analogy

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    You have captured what I have felt many times - well done!! Congrats on TS❣️

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Nicely done it, congrats dear.

  • Isaac Ekow Anyidohoabout a month ago

    Nice, top story and great

  • Zivah Avrahamabout a month ago

    I love this learning process you describe, using paper chains to illustrate it.

  • Emily Kittyabout a month ago

    This is beautifully written :)

  • The Dani Writerabout a month ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this! The imagery you chose contained a perfect analogy for your message. I hadn't thought about those paper chains since, like forever! A magical top story that deserves every accolade!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    Really strong voice here.

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Such a great top story, beautiful writing.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Hey, congrats on you top story.

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a month ago

    This is fantastic- like the best of poems, beautiful in both wordsmithing and the underlying theme. I hope to forge some links of steel, but boy is it difficult. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece, and congrats on a well-deserved Top Story!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    This was such a beautiful poem. I loved the images you created. So glad I stumbled across your work! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is beautiful. Congrats on the TS.

  • CHRISTIAN Pabout a month ago

    Wonderful

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    Great analogy, Josey for finding the people that matter, beautifully expressed.

Josey PickeringWritten by Josey Pickering

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.