Poets logo

Papa Whistles Symphonies

the rare art of listening

By Wendy MuskPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Uncommon Challenge
8
Papa Whistles Symphonies
Photo by Clark Young on Unsplash

My father was a poor Brooklyn boy

Who could whistle symphonies.

Having had nothing,

He gave me everything

Which is to say,

Music.

I practiced Mozart on our new upright

In a bay window alcove

With a view of a hedge.

My father read the NY Times

Holding it aloft

A paper sail catching melodies

Which is to say,

He listened.

At 4 o’clock on Fridays

A patient teacher with knobby fingers

Taught mine to fly across the keys

I played Solfegietto until my fingers caught fire

Fur Elise until I wept

Which is to say,

My feet finally reached the pedals.

At fifteen I entered competitions

Collected little medals in a shiny black box

Skipped school to practice

Picked a dream bigger than a lifetime

Which is to say,

Being a musician.

For twenty years I toured the world

Eventually, I too learned to listen

Music said

Don’t push the tempo until it breaks

Which is to say,

I let myself fall in love with a composer.

We made our world a sanctuary

Raised musical children

Kept the dream alive.

Music said, find the space between the notes

Take comfort and rest a little

Which is to say,

No one will realize you’re missing.

After three quarters of a century

My father unzipped the universe

And left by the back kitchen door.

I framed the sketch of an eagle he penciled

on the front page margin of the Times

And placed it on our old upright piano.

Which is to say,

If I listen

I can still hear him whistling along

as I practice

In the bay window

Now, with a view of a forest.

********************************************************

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Wendy Musk

Creative curriculum designer/ Director, Shakespeare Repertory/ Author:"Writing By Heart"; "Word Market"; "Global Game". Flutist/ recording artist. Forever student, word lover.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Sid Aaron Hirjiabout a year ago

    Really good poem, I love how you talked about something people perceive as common.

  • ATHENAHabout a year ago

    Wonderful tribute. I felt deeper emotion with this than the winners.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This is a spectacular piece. Such a lovely, moving tribute to your father and a legacy at the same time. Congratulations on the win!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Like reading butterfly wings on a page. You captured the aching memories and followed the thread full circle in a way very few can artfully express. Beautifully done. Congratulations on placing Runner Up in the Uncommon Challenge. ❤️'d and subscribed. :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done. congrats.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.