Poets logo

Panic

Will writing release it?

By Heidi McCloskeyPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
2
Panic
Photo by Accuray on Unsplash

Trapped

Breath staggering

Eyes closed

Eyes open

Eyes darting

Thoughts racing

Set me free

Screaming internally

Rising up externally

Limbs spasming

Chest heavy

Tightening

Closed in

Unable to breathe

Clawing

Praying

Pleading

Freed

Breath steadying

What the fuck was that?

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Heidi McCloskey

I have internally decided that I am a writer. Since that decision was made, the voice in my head has changed. It’s become louder as it begs to be released.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Writing certainly helps, but not when in the throes of panic. This poem was suffocating. 👏☺️ Great job!

  • I remember when I had my first panic attack and I had no idea what was happening 😳I thought I had developed asthma❗ Great piece❤️💯😉📝Thank you for sharing ❗❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.