Poets logo

Panes of Glass

A Sonnet or something like it

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2022
20
Panes of Glass
Photo by Umberto on Unsplash

Permit me no grace if you can find me

Arm cocked back, throwing stones at panes of glass

Falling shards so sharp, they could cut the past

Maybe I do deserve blood’s warm embrace

Give me no solace if you can find me

Passing judgment while I’m slow to reflect

Shattered mirrors to count the tears I wept

Anything to pursue being heartless

Betrayals symptoms showed; I missed the signs

Then saw reservations he had with you

Funny when you can pretend that you tried

Leaving preservation for something new

Now your leftovers taste like spoon-fed lies

These hard pills to swallow, my bitter truths

Thank you for taking the time to read Panes of Glass which was featured as a Vocal Top Story. If you have time, please check out Rearview Mirror, which was also featured as a Vocal Top Story.

Likes, comments, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

heartbreak
20

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Nasta2 years ago

    Amazing, even the balance of sounds in this piece are sharp. Thank you for writing this!

  • Laura Hall2 years ago

    Incredible!!! 👏🏼 Love the vulnerability you share! So relatable!

  • Blake Capps2 years ago

    Jeff you’re killing it man!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.