Poets logo

Pandora

A bit of classic teen angst that I dug up from the archives. Don't open the box.

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

They said these were the days of our lives

They promised us magic unending

Every single glamour-loving silver screen

Assures us of some kind of happy ending

But I know they are wrong

I've been told it all my life

Hope

A glimmer in the dark

A flicker of a spark

A lovely warning flare

Your doom is near, but pay no heed

Such is the curse of the human breed

She may keep it in, but it's always there

Something in your eyes holds a light

Of mischief, and magic, and scheming

I dream that it could let me take flight

But I know that I've only been dreaming

For I sit here alone

And gouge my cynicism into the page

Hope

A glimmer in the dark

A flicker of a spark

A lovely warning flare

Your doom is near, but pay no heed

Such is the curse of the human breed

She may keep it in, but it's always there

And I laugh at myself

And I laugh at the Greeks

And the rest of humanity, and Hollywood too

For finding fault in every single brick in the road

So that we clutch our pixie dust until it's all we can hold

And pretend that dreams come true

They said these were the days of our lives

I hear them as I come down to Earth

To realize that I am just a mortal girl

And to cry for all I'm worth

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.