Poets logo

Pandemic Woes

Gone but not forgotten

By Fathima S MeerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Pandemic Woes
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

I did all that was expected.

I wore the mask,

washed my hands,

and kept my distance.

I sanitized

till my skin was dry!

But still,

you snuck up

on ME!

You climbed into my head

and left it throbbing.

You attacked my able body

and left it weak.

I fought you

day and night

and eventually won.

But still,

you haunt me.

You've robbed me of my peaceful sleep,

and turned my day to night,

and my night to day.

My once vibrant self

is now a shadow of the me

I used to be ...

My lethargic body

drags itself through daily chores.

My tastebuds are no more,

even though my appetite is restored.

You may be gone,

and my test is negative,

but your legacy ravages my body

and haunts my dreams!

Oh, what have you done?

I can not forget ...

Flu like no other,

Oh, PANDEMIC BE GONE!!!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Fathima S Meer

Fathima S Meer is a writer, editor, blogger, and a full-time mum to 4 delightful daughters with a passion for parenting, life, travel, and politics.

[email protected]

https://bankedmemories.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.