Poets logo

Pancake v backside

A letter to my backside

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10

Dear derriere,

I have something to say about food

and it's effect on your bum-li-ness

But first let me address the elephant in the room

Well...hello there,

mouth-watering lovely thing

Good morning

How appetizing you appear

i so miss the days when I could

(please pardon my manners)

eat an unwholesome pancake breakfast

and still visit the loo without wondering

if bodily functions will cooperate and evacuate

or if you will just fly from lip to hips and thighs

and make yourself very comfortable expanding

my already ample burgeoning backside

burgeoning (beginning to grow or increase rapidly; flourishing)

now I just have to settle for raisin bran

and wholewheat toast

those healthy bland nourishing treats

now I can only have the little blueberries

which happily and invitingly garnish your gooeyness

while watching the kids gulp down your wonderfulness

where have the years gone? they flew so swiftly from

young and carefree, to careful and picky, hearing

the clock counting down from your 'pancake-y' joyfulness

please know that I miss you, and that

Parting is such sweet sorrow

Well, that's all for now

Forever yours,

Abstainer of your joy and pleasing sumptuousness!

By Jakob Owens on Unsplash

.....................................................................................................................

slam poetryperformance poetryBad habitshumanitysatirehealthycuisine
10

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.11 months ago

    This made me so hungry for pancakes. ❤️ I'm so sorry you are not able to enjoy them, this truly tugged at my heartstrings! 🥹 I did enjoy the poem very much; well-done! 🤗❤️❤️

  • Every Sunday when my kids are with me I make pancakes. Now I wonder if I should be writing a journal entry to ponder these things. LOL!

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Hello author of the day! I’ve been reading Vocal+ to a friend as I’ve been embarking on and publishing Microfiction. A new genre for me. We both laughed out loud at the title and you certainly delivered! Hilarious! Pauline 🌸

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    I still eat my harthy pancakes breakfast meal once a month 🥰🥳Sorry you have to watch what you eat for health reasons, can relate

  • Lol, this was both so relatable and hilarious! I love your sense of humour!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    "your bum-li-ness" 😁😂

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    Oh man! Now I want pancakes! On a side note, I truly apologize for not recognizing your name as "Novlet Allen" in Vocal+Assist. I am going through the Top Stories for April and May to find yours that I missed. Once again, my apologies!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Novel, you never cease to amaze me and bring a smile to my face! This was exactly how I needed to start today, reading your hilarity while I had my morning tea! 💜 Your candid and playful but blunt exploits are something that I always admire you having the courage to share! Thanks for being a beautiful but sadly pancake-less soul! 🥰🥞

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    🤣 I use to eat pancakes for dinner on occasion- you know, maple syrup and ice cream and all that. Now I try to 👨🏻‍🍳 cook! 😊✨

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    A moment on the lips can lead to a lifetime on the hips... But they do taste great! Thank you for this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.