Poets logo

Pain

#VocalNPM

By Megan ArtusPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Silence screams at me from every corner of the room.

It numbs my mind and blocks all senses.

The ringing in my ears reverberates through my body.

How long have I been here, alone?

It's been so long I'm beginning to forget the nightmares.

Oh, how I long for those nightmares.

Nightmares would at least give me something to think about, something to grasp, something to feel.

All I have is nothingness, emptiness.

At least the pain in my head is tangible, real.

I can feel that.

Was it always this way?

The only thing to touch me, pain?

No.

That I do remember.

There was a life before this- this pain.

As for a memory, a recollection, proof of its previous existence?

None.

Yet somehow, deep, deep inside, through all the layers of numbness and pain there's something.

Something that makes this worth fighting through, worth weathering.

If only I could remember what that something was.

Instead, I sit here wallowing in pain, soaking up the emptiness of the room.

I lay my head down, with a hope to escape the nothingness that threatens to drown me.

Sleep crawls over me slowly, and the nightmare begins—

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Megan Artus

@megdmerrillwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.