Poets logo

Pagan Poems

Poetry for the Winter Solstice

By Sapphire RavenclawPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
https://lucinacarmenta.files.wordpress.com/

One thing I love about Facebook memories is that it shows me the poems I forgot I wrote. Here are two that came up today 21st December 2018. They were written for the Pagan festival of Yuletide/Winter Solstice.

Often, I do not give titles to my poems when they are first conceived so the titles are new. You can read more of my poetry here.

by Joanna Powell Colbert

Winter Aspects (written 21st December 2013)

Yuletide Blessings

We praise Goddess

The light comes more

The darkness less.

Come longer days

And shorter nights

As solstice comes

We welcome light.

Winter aspects

Of the Gods

Woodland spirits honour

Come together

And light a fire

For Goddess Lucina.

by Susan Morgaine

Yuletide Blessings (written 21st December 2014)

Yuletide Blessings

To my friends

The longest night is here

The nights grow short

The days grow long

As we wait for summer to appear.

So I greet you all

With tidings glad, sincere

And on that note

May I wish

A Blessed Litha to the Southern Hemisphere.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sapphire Ravenclaw

I am, among other things, a freelance writer and mother. I enjoy writing poetry and articles. Currently, much of my spare time is spent working on a book about Paganism (one of many subjects which interests me).

More of me:

WordPress

My Poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.