Poets logo

Ozark Devil

Have you seen him, too?

By Miranda PutneyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7

I saw you,

Looked you in the eye

I didn't know your name

But I recognized

You still.

Still, we were, both of us

Neither disturbed-

Not at all uncomfortable

Almost as if we had met before

I knew that it wasn't me you were looking for

Seems crazy, to me

Such a mangy beast

Could look so at peace

You were not hunting,

No, you were just watching

In a benign way that didn't feel like stalking

I know you carried malevolent vibes

But you must have been justified

Because I felt no fear

Locking eyes with you there

In the wild Ozark wood

You did need to do dirty work, no doubt

But only to even the universe out

Calm and eerie

I never told a soul,

Felt no need to

For I was not the least bit unnerved by you

Devil, incarnate

I think that you might

Take a new form sometimes-

I saw into your soul

And you saw into mine.

surreal poetry
7

About the Creator

Miranda Putney

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    great poem.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    There is something incredibly powerful in looking the devil in the eye and knowing that it just is, and that while today is not your day, if you walk in shadows for far too long, tomorrow might be.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Very captivating! I enjoyed this, great work :)

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Lovely, mysterious and truly beautiful poem. I really loved this part at the end, "I think that you might Take a new form sometimes- I saw into your soul And you saw into mine." Great work!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is well done - I like the message. Good job! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.