Poets logo

Owning My Insecurities and Inferiorities

From Reeling to Healing!

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
12
Image of Me, edited in NightCafe

Reeling internally I am

Realising the bad I am

This is not a sad pathetic moan

This is not a pity party poem

It is just the honest truth

It is better to not be aloof

I'd rather wear my insecurities

I'd rather wear my inferiorities

Somedays I find myself feeling black

Somedays I find myself out of whack

*

Then, I remember, I'm just a man

Then, I remind myself I'm no superman

The relief I feel at that understanding

The relief coursing through me is outstanding

Ignore the pressures the world places on me

Ignore the pressures that come with a fee

Work through my insecurities

Work through my inferiorities

For me, just me, myself and I

For me, not some other woman or guy

*

Like many people, I make things harder than they need to be

Like many people, I blow things out of proportion, you see

Taking time to realise I'm not just bad or evil

Taking time to remember I'm more than just a weevil

Helps me get through the pressures, helps me face the real me

Helps me get through the pressures, helps me become who I should be

Grab hold of my insecurities

Grab hold of my inferiorities

It's all me, all individual me, just trying

It's all me, whether I'm laughing and crying

*

Thank you for reading. Welcome to another visit to my mind. I hope you enjoyed your stay. Please click the heart, drop a comment or if you are feeling generous a bit of both! I welcome all feedback and interactions!

You may also enjoy some of my other pieces, including:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

slam poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Spot on Paul. You are not alone. 🥰

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Another classic Paul poem... But this one has a good strong underlying message. Good job!!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I loved this line, “ Like many people, I make things harder than they need to be”… that’s me, oh yes! That is me 🫠 Wonderful, relatable poem. Thank you! ❤️

  • That's the thing about humans, none of us are perfect. Loved your poem!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love how you don't shy away from sharing your thoughts and feelings. This was a great piece!! And these lines really stood out to me, 'The relief I feel at that understanding. The relief coursing through me is outstanding'. Wonderful work, my friend :)

  • 💯❤️Great work❗

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I love how you manage to throw some bits of funny into even your more serious works. I always enjoy your insights!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Absolutely! Well done. :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I really like how you own you insecurities while also reminding yourself of the positives and realities of being human. Definitely not a pity party. Great piece. Well done, buddy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.