Poets logo

Overt and Compelling Digressions

A Glosa Poem using lines from Edgar Allan Poe's "A Dream Within a Dream."

By V. B. BPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Overt and Compelling Digressions
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

“I stand amid the roar

of a surf-tormented shore,

and I hold within my hand

grains of the golden sand.”

- "A Dream Within a Dream" by Edgar Allan Poe.

My thoughts rage savagely,

continually crashing against

the plexiglass walls of my mind,

repeating,

repeating

what I have told myself so many times before.

I want to drill

a hole in my pondering temple

and watch the unheard words pour,

as I stand amid the roar.

I’m immersed in my own reality,

a tragedy of my own invention,

conjuring up a magic worry

from my top hat of imagination.

I reach into the tumultuous waves of my unconscious,

fingers sinking down to the ocean floor

grabbing handfuls of self-loathing

rummaging,

looking for the key to my lock of misery, hearing the stridor

of [my] surf-tormented shore.

I am stuck in a narcissistic nightmare

of escapism,

clinging to the cliff of my sanity,

fingernails breaking on its rocky surface.

My emotions are more twisted

then each strand

of a rope’s knotted noose.

I scribble lists to quiet myself internally,

every one of my moves, always planned.

And I hold within my hand

a pen,

spilling inky black subconscious

on bright white sheets of routine,

repeating,

repeating

what my eddying contemplations demand.

I watch my clock obsessively

shoes ticking away against the floor, until

my hourglass shatters, spilling tanned

grains of the golden sand.

- V.B.B.

excerptssurreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

V. B. B

I'm a pessimistic amateur poet and writer that has had a few violent and dark things published. Also, I love to make lists of my favourite movies, t.v. shows, books, and music.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.