Poets logo

Outlaw

An Ode to Outlaws

By Otor MatthewPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Yea, look at me

Call me an outlaw all you want

Because I refuse to stand by your standards and sit by your Citadel

Seeking an approval that disapproves of everything I represent

I won’t be present in your desires and absent where my dreams require

I am the Outlaw

Failure has become excusable and Mediocrity is the medium with which we communicate

Why is impossible the only opinion that matters

We Celebrate boundaries that bound us

Set limits and call them milestones

You say the sky is your limit

What was Armstrong doing on the Moon?

Contrary to popular opinion

It does exist even if you do not see it

I call on outlaws like me

We will travel faster if we together travel follow our dreams

I don’t care if they call you gang star – you are celestial

I’m Sorry making money doesn’t mean you’ve made it

You’re too much in a hurry

You don’t need cyber-crime to climb

Who says it’s illegal to dream in a ghetto

Your habitat doesn’t have to be where your habit’s at

Drop the guns it’s time to shoot for something different

Yes shoot, let’s shoot

Let’s shoot - For the Moon

Not everyone would remember the farmer but they remember the fruit

Not everyone would remember the inventor but they’ll feel the impact of the invention through the eons

I know what part of history I want to be on

So I call on every outlaw

That when our stories are written in history books

The last words wouldn’t be ‘the end’

No, they’ll be

We made it

We made it

We made it

We Made It!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Otor Matthew

.Poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.