Poets logo

Out of the Mirror's Maze

Finding Self Beyond the Narcissist's Illusion

By Dana CantuPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Out of the Mirror's Maze
Photo by Rohan Makhecha on Unsplash

In the shadow of grandeur, where false suns did glare,

Lived I, beneath the gaze, in a narcissist's lair.

Their light, like a lighthouse, shone bright but misled,

Guiding not to safe harbor, but to tumult instead.

Words woven like silk, in a dazzling display,

Promised heavens and stars, but led hearts astray.

Mirrors for their souls, yet in them, I saw naught.

But my own reflection, in their battles, I fought.

In the dance of their ego, I lost my own beat,

Echoing steps that were never meant for my feet.

Yet beneath their illusion, a truth lay so stark,

In the quiet, my whisper outshone their false spark.

Surviving a narcissist, like escaping a storm,

Finding strength in the stillness, in my own form. Learning that love,

the true kind, begins within, A light that no shadow, no facade can ever dim.

From the ashes of chaos, a new self arose, rooted in self-respect, where true

freedom grows. Beyond the horizon, past their cunning guise, I discovered a world seen through my own eyes.

So here I stand, in a world that's wide and vast, free from the shadow, the narcissist's cast.

In surviving, I found a much brighter way.

Where my soul speaks its truth, and in light, I stay.

inspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Dana Cantu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Dana Cantu is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.