Poets logo

Out Of It

The Plan to Give Up

By Melanie BurkePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
1

Somehow I must have made you mad,

Or is this the consequence, if I made you sad,

Because your main mission is to hurt me bad

Are you even listening?

Discouragement and tears were all I had

Somehow I really must have made you mad

The holy father, more like the deadbeat dad

Are you even listening?

Big kid, high kid

High up on the shelf

Burning us, burning us

High up on the shelf

Big kid, high kid

You are just a myth

Fuck you, goodbye kid

High up on your monolith

And I never saw it coming

Your words so silent; they would speak

And you couldn’t hear me humming

My holy prayers once a week

I’m losing you, refusing you

No longer yours to beat

Big kid, high kid

Never falling to your feet

But some way I must have made you cry

Some say I should have just told you hi

Though some days I just wanna touch your sky

And you’re not even there

I don’t want to stay here, I want by your side

But loving you with no answers fucks with my pride

And some way I must have made you cry

You've got to be there

Big kid, high kid

High up on the shelf

Burning us, burning us

High up on the shelf

Big kid, high kid

You are just a myth

Fuck you, goodbye kid

High up on your monolith

And I never saw it coming

Your words so silent; they would speak

And you couldn’t hear me humming

My prayers once a week

I’m losing you, refusing you

No longer yours to beat

Big kid, high kid

Never falling to your feet

I’m out of it

Over

Messiah’s holy ‘hova

We are never supposed to

Get to you or even close to

I’m out of it

Needing

No more red words reading

You were always so deceiving

No more holy preaching

Big kid, high kid

High up on the shelf

Burning us, burning us

High up on the shelf

Big kid, high kid

You are just a myth

Fuck you, goodbye kid

High up on your monolith

And I never saw it coming

Your words so silent; they would speak

And you couldn’t hear me humming

My prayers; every once a week

I’m losing you, refusing you

No longer yours to beat

Big kid, high kid

Never falling to your feet

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Melanie Burke

I've got quite a few things to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.