Poets logo

OUR HERITAGE

Dirty Old Town

By Margaret BrennanPublished 26 days ago 1 min read
3

OUR HERITAGE

Dirty old town

*********************************

I now live in place where the streets are kept clean;

The air is easy to breathe.

When I think of the city where I used live

It always makes my anger seethe.

**

The smog and the soot, not to mention the smell

Are too much for a person to bear.

There’s garbage and junk strewn all over the street –

It’s a shame that no one will care.

**

But maybe, just maybe, if they tidied the streets,

And put limestone on the compost pit,

Wash off the graffiti and filter each car,

Then, maybe, this might help a bit.

**

This world isn’t ours for the taking;

We can’t leave it without making a sound.

This place is for all our descendants.

Let’s leave something good to pass down.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Murali24 days ago

    The real trash is for those who make this world dirty.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.