Poets logo

Otherworldly Beauty

Lady Of The Forest

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
12
Otherworldly Beauty
Photo by Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

The ice crackles on my windowpane

The cold wind rattles at my gate

The trees rustle in the waning light

Losing leaves is their fate

***

The warm fire crackles in the grate

The front door swings open with a squeak

Smoke and sparks engulf the chimney breast

As she enters with reddened cheeks

***

I put the old kettle on the fire hook

Boiling water for our tea

As she runs cold fingers through raven hair

My wild goddess come to me

***

Her otherworldly beauty takes my breath away

She hasn't aged a single day

Since she first strode from the forest path

And caused my lonely heart to capsize

***

Since that day so long ago

I have been drowning in her love

My lady from the forest grove

My one and only true love

***

As I pour the tea she sits beside me

Hazel eyes smile into my very soul

Without a word, we can sit for hours

No need to speak, enlighten or console

***

This old cottage in the wilderness

Where I had always felt so alone

Since the day my otherworldly beauty came to stay

It has become my cosy, forever home.

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.