Poets logo

:-) or : )

Does It Matter

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
1
:-) or : )
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

My soul is a snob even with its nose

Thus I drop its prying sense when I can

It is not as if it loses its clothes

I can always offer it a bedpan

Why so mean one may think up to believe

Since unlike many I love the body

Much more than my soul can dare to conceive

With its fixed forever I think shoddy

I owe it nothing since my life is free

It may have entered me surely freely

I never gave my consent for its fee

Knowing deep within what I am really

I do not serve anyone but my Self

One more construct to be left on a shelf

-----

Let me be more blunt, if I can, since I am free! I resent the idea of the soul and the self. I have a brain and gut bacteria that send messages between them to keep my body alive and in good health, providing that I feed them the nutrients that they need most of the time. Whatever happens to my body after it dies does not concern me at all. It will rot or be burned to cinders. Any afterlife does not concern it either. My stance will always remain solid since I only care about my body’s life and the bodies of all those whom I love. Am I a crazy nut? Perhaps, although I think deeply enough that I am not. I have seen and learned about the horrors of this world, and nothing in any future existence will ever atone for humanity’s never-ending crimes. I feel like cursing now, but I will not. Goddess Athena, fictitious to most humans, if not all, will always be the greatest deity ever conceived. Fiction will always better reality in beauty, notwithstanding the trees that keep falling and the blue waters that keep metabolising plastics and other human-derived swill. Why do we imagine or long for a paradise when we are living in one, which is unrelentingly being turned into a hell much worse than the one invented when Earth was still a true heaven? Mars, my ass, and fuck the Moon as well! I had to curse a little, after all. By the way, I was only referring to my soul and my Self, no one else’s.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.