Poets logo

Opinions/Hot cocoa

Combined two poems. Everyone has a say, listen to them.

By Joonga ShipPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

That moment when..

You say your opinion and people call you slurs for it.

That moment when..

You say your opinion and people shame you for it.

That moment when..

You say your opinion and people refuse to see your side to it.

That moment when..

You say your opinion and it's not popular opinion and people mistreat you for it even if your opinion isn't a bad opinion.

I feel like an outcast for having different, good, opinions.

I feel like a child for having different, good, opinions.

I feel like no one wants to see life from another side.

I feel like people should see everything before they mistreat me.

My opinion is just as valid as yours.

My opinion is just as okay as yours.

My opinion is my opinion and I didn't ask for you to try and change it.

My opinion is my opinion and I respect yours, won't you grant me the same courtesy?

We are all different, we see the world differently.

We are all different, we have different looks on the world.

We are all different, we won't agree on everything.

We are all different, there are going to be different outlooks.

Please don't be mean to me before you see my side,

It's not that hard

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

It's cold. My fingertips are blue.

My nose is a rosy red. Frostbite.

Snow, the frigid weather. The glaze.

The crystals reflect from my ears. Icy rainbows hit the floor.

I can't feel my toes. My arms are blue.

I shiver, my neck tingles. I turn around.

It's you! With a warm scarf and hot chocolate for me.

My lips are cracked yet the corners of my mouth raise.

You hand me my cup. Frozen fingers wrap around it.

The steam rises to warm my face. The world is cold.

You kiss my frozen lips, the warmth of yours thawing mine.

It's not real.

What?

He wakes up.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

The first poem, Opinions, is a personal grievance of mine. I'm sick of never being heard due to having a different thought then everyone else.

The last poem, Hot Cocoa, plays on the spacing of the words, draws suspense. It also is based off of a dream I had.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Joonga Ship

I write poems. All kinds of poems. Some fun and happy, others sad and dark. Some make you think, some make you cry, and some make you laugh. Some are good, some are bad. Some rhyme, most don't.

Take caution reading the heavy ones! <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joonga ShipWritten by Joonga Ship

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.