Poets logo

(Opening (Up) Close)

Some questions I learned to ask myself in order to keep cops out of my brain.

By Kenni DankertPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
“Eurydice Looks Back” - PhotoShop on PhoneScreen - 2020

Can I explore people the way I explore the web and new places? Can I look at my life critically and imagine it as a spectrum, not just good or bad? Can my curiosity extend to the things and people close to me for a closer look, instead of only to things distant in time and space? Can I be present and consider possibilities and solutions for the things and people right in front of me? Can I consider my body as the thing closest to me, and start there?

Every time I police myself, I perpetuate a tangible and grotesque myth. I damage my senses and by extension, I act insensitive to others who’s realities are policed by real cops that steal senses like my paranoia stole mine.

The first step to reparation is coming clean.

I’m ready to take action, listen, and be silent.

to hear screams

of the suffering

to let dreams stop buffering

to be free

to be

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kenni Dankert

Interdimensional maker based out of Tucson.

MFA in Progress // GTA at the University of Arizona.

Telling gradient stories of personal, past, present, future, fact, and fiction to explore bodily and human truths through symbiotic mediums.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.