Poets logo

Onward March

Carrying on

By R F KPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Onward March
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When first I entered,

safe and complacent I walked.

Though chased by my own perfect image

I did not quicken my step.

I am in control.

Anxiety and fear talk,

near they follow and taunt

at my trembling lip, still I walk.

'Mind over matter' said the whispers in the dark.

I hide behind false strength

as my thoughts are not my own,

and my words are no better.

I could leave, I know,

and go back the way I came.

Pained, I breathe and continue on my way

to not loose the steps I've gained.

Mental Health

About the Creator

R F K

I like to write and want to get better.

Always appreciate comments for advice and pointers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 months ago

    It is very live and I felt it!

R F KWritten by R F K

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.